2011 Leo Award-Winning VFSers

Celebrating the best of the film and television industry in British Columbia, the Leo Awards wrapped this weekend after two ceremonies honouring many VFS alumni and faculty with nominations across the board. We’d like to congratulate the VFSers who took home top prizes.

Makeup Design grads Crissy Renaud, Soo Jung Kwak, and Jon Berezan won Best Make-up in a Short Drama for their work on the VFS-heavy film, Death Wish (pictured left).

And the Best Sound Editing in a Feature-Length Drama award went to Sound Design instuctors Maureen Murphy and Anke Bakker for their work on Altitude.

Congrats to all nominees and winners!

2011 Leo Nominations for VFS Grads

Once again, VFS grads and instructors are in the running for the Leo Awards, honouring the best in entertainment media in British Columbia. We celebrated multiple winners in both 2009 and 2010, and expectations are high for a repeat performance in 2011.

Here’s the list of nominees we’ll be rooting for:

Ron E. ScottFilm Production grad – Best Dramatic Series for Blackstone (Ron is also the founder of Prairie Dog, the company that recently awarded a $1,000 Writing prize).

Chad CostenFilm Production grad/Foundation instructor – Best Short Drama, Best Screenwriting in a Short Drama, Best Picture Editing in a Short Drama, and Best Costume Design in a Short Drama for Death Wish. Read about the many VFS grads who contributed to this production.

Ita MargalitWriting grad/instructor – Best Screenwriting in a Short Drama for The Homestead.

Stephen LebailWriting staff – Best Production Design in a Short Drama for Senseless.

Christina Renaud and Jon BerezanMakeup Design grads – Best Make-up in a Short Drama for Death Wish.

Mimespeak – produced by Entertainment Business Management grads Mercedes Colon and Samantha Degagne – is up for Best Performance by a Male in a Short Drama for actor Robin Nielsen. Find out more about the short film in this Blast Light.

Anton CrnkovicSound Design grad – Best Sound Editing in a Documentary Program or Series for Streets of Plenty.

Mauricio Dal Poggetto3D Animation &Visual Effects grad – Best Student Production for History of Greed. (Watch it now on our YouTube Channel!)

Jon Busby and Jesse DavidgeDigital Character Animation grads – Best Music Video for Arrow by Kathryn Calder. (Watch the video here.)

Matt TonerWriting grad – Best Web Series for Animism: The God’s Lake. Animism, which featured the work of multiple VFS grads and instructors, was also nominated for a SXSW Interactive award.

Bob Woolsey and Andrew MenziesWriting grads – Best Web Series for Bob & Andrew. Bob is also the Program Manager for Entertainment Business Management. The second season of Bob & Andrew is set to premiere June 6th.

See a complete list of the nominees for this year’s awards. Congratulations to everyone, and best of luck on June 8th and 11th!

UPDATE: Looks like we missed a few.

Maureen Murphy and Anke BakkerSound Design staff – Best Sound Editing in a Feature Length Drama for Altitude.

Josh StevensonSound Design grad – Best Sound Editing in a Documentary Program or Series for How to Boil a Frog.

Brad HillmanSound Design instructor – Best Sound Editing in a Youth or Children’s Program or Series for Animate Everything!